5 minutes “Make-up Challenge?!”

How to do your makeup in less than 5 minutes?

As a makeup enthusiast it is very hard for me to do my makeup in less than 15 minutes. Yes challenge me and I’m going to win haha! I can do my full makeup in 15minutes. But doing it in 5 minutes flat? Na-ah! If you’re working and have a shifting schedule like I do, from 6am to 2pm meaning you have to wake up at least 2 hours ahead depending on the location. Since I’m only 15 minutes away from work then 2 hours would be fine for me. I don’t really take too much time inside the bathroom but more of fixing myself and doing my makeup. I was telling myself all the time…always! Like, I do not want to wake up early I need time to spare and this makeup thing-y is eating too much of my time. I can’t do it and I don’t know how to overcome.

So how about for the normal people who are not into beauty ritual, Somebody who are ok with the basic application? “No makeup” makeup looks? No contour? Powder and lipstick? No problem! Well lucky then.

But the saying goes like “You’ll never know, unless you never try” ta-da!

So today I woke up 4:20am, eaten my breakfast for like 18minutes, took a bath for 15minutes. And Challenge myself to do my makeup in 5 minutes, expecting to be ready by 5:10am to 5:15am. Allot time for at least 10 minutes to check my social accounts. So I set the timer on my phone and with no cuts I ended up like doing it for 9 minutes and 42 seconds. Failed!

Making myself ready at 5:26am.Booo!

What are the things that I use and why still it took me that long?

  • Foundation – Happy Skin Second Skin (medium to full coverage) brush needed
  • Concealer – MAC pro long wear – brush needed
  • Contour Kit – City color contour and The Balm Manizer Sisters – brush needed
  • Eyebrow pencil and eyebrow powder – Pencil from Faceshop and ELF brow kit with a brush
  • Blush on – EB Advance or Essence (I always have it on my kit) brush needed
  • Lipstick – Matte or semi matte (whatever I have in my kit)
  • Mascara and liquid eyeliner – both from Rucys Vanity
  • Powder – EB BB Powder in Oriental – brush/sponge.

The next day I challenge again myself and ended up like 6 minutes and 12 seconds. Almost!

What happen and how did I do that without manipulating and skipping the ritual. Well these are the stuffs that I use to make my life easier in times like this.haha! For those of you who don’t have time,running late for work or school you can follow the tips below.

(See personal Disclaimer)

I have smooth skin but I’m not spared from pores on my cheeks, redness around my nose and appearance of veins. Also, I have combination skin; I get oily on my t-zone area. For the lipstick I love wearing semi to matte formulation and with that, I have high tolerance with matte lipstick. Also, I always exfoliate my lips.

It’s really important to know your skin types and your preferences. I keep on saying that over and over. Not all the products that you see (from the beauty bloggers) will always work on your skin.

So for those with oily skin the first thing that you should do is to apply a moisturizer at night. Yes do it at night to avoid exceeding too much oil after doing your makeup. So the next day what you have to use is a Primer as it will help you mattify your face. You can put it all over the face but to save time as well as to avoid that heavy feeling (yes some primer feels heavy on the face specially those that are made with silicone) You can use the Quick FX for ony P79.00 (find it in all Watsons) Just put a lil amount on a finger tip and focus on the certain areas that tend to oil up easily. On my end I only use it on my t-zone. Then, instead of foundation and a brush I opted to use a BB cream no brush needed (PONDS – this help me to look fresh and goes naturally. Has a light coverage but were able to cover the redness and brightens up my face) Then I use a concealer to cover my under eyes and visible veins around my cheeks. I use the Bobbie Poof concealer and just a finger to damp the areas. You may use a concealer stick, something that is very easy to blend and sets really well. Without a need to use a brush to save more time just like the foundation and with enough coverage (medium to full preferably so you won’t have to add more layers). Third, I set my face with Powder. You may use a matte or just the regular powder (it always depends on your skin types) If you’re oily then use a primer first before anything else and find a matte powder to help lessen oil. Then for the eyebrow part, Instead of using 2 products I only use a pencil to line up and shade the brows. You can get a pencil with a spooly instead of using a brow brush and shading it back and forth. Brows take much of my time swear! Then I just apply mascara and eyeliner both waterproof and smudge proof to avoid cleaning the areas, again time is valuable. For the cheeks I use a tint or a stick since it can last longer and easy to apply. You may opt to use a lip and cheek tint in one for the lips as well. But since I have too much lippies, I make sure to have at least 5 on my kit and choose whatever my mood up to. In this case I love using a matte lip crème (kiss proof or transfer proof – like sleek, detail matte lip crème, the balm, etc.) something that sets quickly and doesn’t bleed. Last but not the least, is contouring. I know not everyone is fond of doing that but since I have a double chin and knows how to do it then it’s a must for me. I love to contour my face but this time you have to use a brush and choose a taupe like shade that fits and look naturally on the face to avoid removing and reapplying it just because it seems to look dirt on your face. There are also contour kit nowadays (like Happy Skin and Bench) that are accesible to use. This time, noticed that I don’t use eye shadow as part of my ritual? Yes. But if you opt to do that, then find a cream type instead of powder since it is quite messy to use plus you need to have specific brush unlike with the cream eye shadow you can use your finger tip and just blend it.

Remember that the purpose of this blog is to save you and have more spare time, whatever I mentioned above is just a guide based on my experience.  Again, it is still important to know your preferences and do not afraid to explore and exposed yourself with the beauty must haves.

Have a great day!

xoxo

 

 

Leave a Reply

